About Us

WHUT-TV, Howard University Television was founded in 1980 in Washington, D.C. as WHMM. At its inception, the station became the first public station in the United States to be licensed to and operated by a historically black college and university (HBCU) - Howard University. The station broadcasts reach over 2.5 million households in a 60-mile radius. The station endeavors to underscore Howard University's overall mission in its commitment to excellence, leadership and public service. For nearly 40 years on air WHUT has become a leader in broadcast communications by providing quality programming for the Greater Washington, D.C. viewing community that is relevant and informative while offering exceptional professional training in television production, engineering, and management.

Our Misson  

The mission of WHUT-TV, is to deliver educational, entertaining and intellectually stimulating multicultural and intergenerational programming to the public in the Metro DC region. The station endeavors to underscore Howard University’s commitment to excellence in Truth and Service.

 

WHUT follows the Public Media Code of Integrity.

Our Team 

MANAGEMENT AND ADMINISTRATION

Sean Plater

General Manager

s.plater@whut.org

Luma Haj 

Executive Director of Operations

l.haj@whut.org

ENGINEERING

Louis Crozier Sr.

Director of Engineering / New Technologies

l.crozier@whut.org

EDUCATION AND OUTREACH

Keisha B. Nelson 

Education & Outreach Manager

k.nelson@whut.org

DEVELOPMENT

Alyssa Lanier

Individual Giving Manager

a.lanier@whut.org

CONTENT 

Angie Ange

Director  of Content

ange@whut..org 

Sharon Drayton

Sr. Production Manager

s.drayton@whut.org

Shannon Diane'

Senior Producer

s.diane@whut.org

Saryn Francis

Social Media Coordinator

s.francis@whut.org